FAQ

FAQ:

 

  • What is healthy soil?

    Healthy soil is alive, rich with an incredible diversity of living organisms from bacteria, fungus, protozoa, to earthworms and tiny insects. It is this living biological component that makes the difference between a healthy soil and a degraded soil. Substances secreted by these living organisms make mineral soil particle clump together, giving soil what we call structure. Soil structure helps soil contain pockets of air and water which help plants to grow and also allows water to percolate deeper into the earth. This provides better drainage in times of excess water and also stores water in times of drought. Healthy soil sequesters carbon in the form of soil organic matter and humus.

  • Why are soils around the world degraded? What does this entail?

    To this date, about one third of soils worldwide are degraded. We are losing approximately 12 million hectares of productive land to desertification every year, an area roughly the size of England.
    This degradation is in part due to industrial agricultural practices (e.g. tilling, monocultures, chemical inputs) as well as deforestation, which inhibit life in the soil.
    A degraded soil loses its carbon content, which is largely emitted in the atmosphere as CO2, contributing to climate change. Indeed, the majority of agricultural soils have lost 50 to 70% of their carbon content.

  • How can we regenerate soil health?

    We can regenerate soil health by creating the conditions for the biological life in soil to thrive. Here are the basic principles which inform regenerative soil health practices:
    Reduce or eliminate plowing and tilling Plowing and tilling are commonly used to loosen and aerate soil for planting as well as to control weeds. However these practices disrupt the soil structure and break the fragile networks of fungi which are so important to soil biology. They make soil vulnerable to erosion by wind and water and expose the soil microorganisms to sunlight. By reducing or eliminating these practices, we permit the soil biology to colonize in a safe habitat. Controlling weeds remains a challenge, which is helped by keeping the soil covered.
    Keep soil covered In nature, soil is never bare. There is always living plants or debris covering it. This helps to keep the humidity and temperature amenable to the biological life of the soil. In regenerative agriculture, soil is kept protected with cover crops (plants grown specifically between cash crops to cover the soil), with mulch (dry organic matter such as straw or wood chips) or by synthetic tarps. The most effective method is to keep living roots growing in the soil as much as possible.
    Use organic inputs and reduce or eliminate synthetic fertilizers and pesticides Synthetic fertilizers and pesticides inhibit soil biology, while compost, compost tea and microbial inoculants feed it. Soil fertility is built by using cover crops and green manure while shifting to organic inputs.
    Increase biodiversity and integrate perennial crops Monoculture crops are vulnerable to disease and adverse conditions. By increasing the diversity of species grown we feed the soil with a greater range of nutrients and take advantage of the beneficial relationships among plant species. This gives a greater resistance to disease, reducing the need for pesticides. It also builds resilience as some types of plants will survive better than others depending on the climate conditions.
    Perennial plants (trees, shrubs many grasses, fruits and vegetables) do not need to be replanted every year, disturbing the soil ecosystem each time. Their better developed root systems penetrate more deeply into the earth, thereby deepening the zone where water penetrates and carbon is sequestered. Regenerative agriculture advocates including a diversity of perennial crops as well as integrating them into annual crop production (agroforestry) to improve the soil biology, the water retention capacity of the soil as well as its capacity to sequester carbon.
    Holistic Integration of ruminant animals Ruminant animals such as cows and sheep have a unique capacity to digest cellulose and therefore provide one of the best opportunities to build soil in a temperate zone. Perennial grasses, grazed by herds of ruminants using a method called holistic managed grazing, have the potential to sequester large amounts of carbon. The animals graze, trampling plant matter into the earth and spreading their manure as they go. The dense herd is moved frequently to prevent overgrazing and to stimulate the rapid regrowth of the grasses.
    The current industrial meat production system has a very negative carbon footprint, causing many to say that the best thing we can do for the planet is to stop eating meat. But managed grazing is very beneficial and has a positive carbon footprint.

  • How can regenerating soil health help mitigate climate change?

    Soil regeneration restores the ability of healthy soil to capture carbon from the atmosphere and sequester it in the earth through the action of plants. By cutting greenhouse gas emissions alone we will never be able to meet our climate targets within the time frame necessary, according to the IPCC report issued in 2018. Once CO2 is in the atmosphere it stays there until it is removed. If we are to avoid catastrophic climate change (above 1.5 degrees according to the IPCC) we must look at solutions to draw the excess carbon out of the atmosphere, in addition to drastically reducing emissions.
    Photosynthesis is nature’s way of drawing atmospheric carbon into the earth. Plants breathe the CO2 and using the energy of the sun, transform it into liquid sugars which feed the soil microorganisms, which in turn help plants to grow. Carbon on the earth is in the form of biomass: the plants, the microorganisms, the animals, and us humans are all made mainly of carbon which is sequestered as long as we are living. When we die some of the organic matter goes back into gas, but some of it remains trapped in the earth. It is trapped deep in the ocean, in peat bogs, wetlands and also in the form of soil humus. The deeper the layer of living soil, the more carbon is sequestered.
    Living soil not only sequesters carbon, preventing it from returning to the atmosphere, it protects us from the effects of climate change. Well structured, healthy soil holds water and air, thus providing resilience to droughts and floods which are more frequent with climate change.

  • How can regenerating soil health feed the world?

    Much is said about how we will need to feed a growing population in the next generations but little is said about how the current state of soil degradation will make that impossible with our current agricultural methods. Living soils have increased fertility from optimizing their natural ecosystem functions. Regenerating soil health will restore degraded lands, increasing acreage of productive land capable of supporting high yields. In the medium and long term regenerated lands are more profitable, with less inputs. Healthy soil also provides resilience to difficult climate events and restores the quality of rivers and lakes

  • Who attends the Living Soils Symposium?

    The Living Soils Symposium is for all who want to play a role in soil regeneration. This includes citizens who care about the health and the carbon footprint of the food system; growers and agronomists who want to share about better methods to produce food while building soil; businesses who are supporting regenerative agriculture and lowering their environmental impact; policy makers who want to support a system where the economy and the environment are not at odds; researchers who are perfecting our understanding of how it works; as well as the artists and storytellers who communicate hope and innovation to the world.

  • Why is the Living Soils Symposium not-to-be-missed?

    The Living Soils Symposium is a unique event which brings together diverse players who care about and have an impact on our food systems and about how our land is managed. Experts will learn from each other and share their experience. The general public will learn more about why soils are important to our ecosystems and our survival. We are at a time in history where we require everyone to do their part to change how we live on this planet. We know that climate change is caused by human intervention into the natural ecosystems Together we must find ways to build a low carbon economy. How we manage the land and the soil ecosystem is critical in redesigning our food system, our cities and our businesses. The Living Soils Symposium is a forum to bring everyone together to stimulate innovation and change.

Media zone: Images to download

 

View our presse release

For information, accreditation or any other media inquiry:

Please communicate with Gabrielle Bastien at gabrielle@regenerationcanada.org

FAQ

FAQ:

 

  • Qu’est-ce qu’un sol en santé?

    Un sol en santé est vivant, riche d’une incroyable diversité de micro-organismes tels que des bactéries, champignons, protozoaires, vers de terre, et petits insectes. C’est cette composante biologique vivante qui différencie un sol en santé d’un sol dégradé. Les substances sécrétées par ces organismes vivants colle les particules minérales du sol ensemble, donnant au sol ce qu’on appelle de la structure. La structure du sol aide à contenir des pochettes d’air et d’eau, ce qui aide les plantes à pousser et permet à l’eau de s’infiltrer plus profondément. Cela permet un meilleur drainage lors de quantités excessives d’eau, et permet aussi de stocker de l’eau en temps de sécheresse. Un sol en santé séquestre du carbone sous la forme de matière organique et d’humus.

  • Pourquoi les sols à travers la planète sont-ils dégradés? Qu’est-ce que ça implique?

    À ce jour, environ un tiers des sols de la planète sont dégradés. On perd environ 12 millions d’hectares de terres productives (presque la superficie de l’Angleterre) à la désertification à chaque année.
    Cette dégradation est entre autres due aux pratiques agricoles industrielles (le labour, les monocultures, les intrants chimiques) et à la déforestation, qui inhibent la vie dans les sols.
    Un sol dégradé perd son contenu en carbone, qui est en grande partie émis dans l’atmosphère comme CO2, contribuant aux changements climatiques. En effet, la majorité des sols agricoles ont perdu de 50 à 70% de leur contenu en carbone.

  • Comment régénère-t-on la santé d’un sol?

    On régénère la santé d’un sol en créant les conditions favorisant la vie dans les sols. Les principes et pratiques permettant de ce faire incluent:
    Réduire ou éliminer le labour et le travail du sol Le labour (retournement du sol avec la charrue, plus en profondeur) et le travail du sol (plus en surface) sont communément utilisés pour décompacter et aérer le sol ainsi que pour contrôler les mauvaises herbes. Toutefois, ces pratiques perturbent l’habitat des micro-organismes et détruisent entre autres les réseaux de mycélium (de champignons) qui sont importants pour la vie dans les sols. Elles rendent le sol vulnérable à l’érosion par le vent et l’eau et exposent les micro-organismes des sols aux rayons du soleil. Réduire ou éliminer le labour et le travail du sol permet donc de conserver l’habitat des microorganismes. Le désherbage demeure un défi réel, par contre, qui peut entre autres être allégé en gardant le sol couvert.
    Garder le sol couvert Dans la nature, le sol n’est jamais à découvert. Des plantes vivantes ou des débris le couvrent toujours. Ceci aide le sol à conserver son humidité et sa température plus fraîche qui sont favorables à la vie des micro-organismes. En agriculture régénératrice, on couvre le sol avec des cultures de couverture (des plantes poussées entre les cultures principales pour couvrir le sol), du paillis (de la matière organique sèche telle que de la paille ou du bois raméal fragmenté) ou par des bâches synthétiques. La manière la plus efficace est de laisser des racines vivantes dans le sol autant que possible.
    Utiliser des intrants organiques et réduire ou éliminer les intrants chimiques De manière générale, les intrants chimiques (pesticides, engrais chimiques) inhibent la vie dans les sols et les intrants biologiques (compost, thé de compost, inoculants microbiens) la stimulent. De plus, le compost est riche en matière organique et en nutriments. La fertilité des sols se bâtit en utilisant des cultures de couverture et des engrais verts tout en priorisant les intrants biologiques.
    Augmenter la biodiversité et intégrer des cultures vivaces Les monocultures sont plus vulnérables aux maladies et aux conditions défavorables. En augmentant la diversité des espèces cultivées, on nourrit le sol avec une plus grande diversité de nutriments et on prend avantage de certaines relations mutuellement bénéfiques entre les plantes. Cela permet d’augmenter la résistance aux maladies, réduisant notre dépendance à des pesticides. Cela permet aussi d’améliorer la résilience, comme certains types de plantes survivront mieux que d’autres dépendant des conditions climatiques.
    Les plantes vivaces (par exemple les arbres, arbustes, herbes de pâturage, certains légumes), contrairement aux plantes annuelles (la plupart des légumes et céréales), repoussent à chaque année et n’ont pas besoin d’être plantées à nouveau. Leurs racines pénètrent plus profondément dans le sol et accroissent la zone où l’eau peut pénétrer et où le carbone peut être séquestré. L’agriculture régénératrice prône l’inclusion de diverses cultures vivaces ainsi que leur intégration dans des systèmes de cultures annuelles (pratique appelée agroforesterie lorsqu’il s’agit d’arbres) afin d’améliorer la biologie des sols, leur capacité de rétention d’eau ainsi que leur capacité à absorber du carbone.
    Gérer des troupeaux de ruminants de manière holistique Les ruminants, tels que les bovins, sont les seuls animaux pouvant digérer la cellulose. Les prairies, qui sont composées de diverses herbes vivaces et qui ont donc un haut potentiel de séquestration de carbone, ont besoin de l’activité de pâturage des ruminants afin d’être plus productives. En broutant, en piétinant les herbes et en répandant leur fumier, ces troupeaux ont un effet bénéfique sur la productivité et la biodiversité de prairies, et sur la biologie des sols ainsi que la séquestration de carbone dans les sols. Les principes d’élevage holistique de ruminants incluent de garder les troupeaux en haute densité et de les déplacer fréquemment afin de permettre aux herbes de récupérer.

  • Comment la régénération de la santé des sols pallie-t-elle aux changements climatiques?

    La régénération des sols restaure la capacité d’un sol en santé à capturer du carbone de l’atmosphère et à le séquestrer dans le sol à travers l’activité des plantes. En réduisant les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, nous ne pourrons jamais atteindre nos objectifs de réchauffement climatique à temps, selon le rapport du GIEC publié en 2018. Une fois que le CO2 est dans l’atmosphère, il y reste jusqu’à ce qu’il en soit retiré. Si nous voulons éviter un réchauffement climatique catastrophique (au-dessus de 1.5 degrés selon le GIEC), nous devons nous tourner vers les solutions qui nous permettent d’absorber le carbone atmosphérique excédentaire, en plus de réduire nos émissions drastiquement.
    La photosynthèse est la manière naturelle d’absorber le carbone atmosphérique dans le sol. Les plantes capturent le CO2 et en utilisant la lumière du soleil, le transforment en sucres liquides qui nourrissent les micro-organismes du sol, qui à leur tour aident les plantes à pousser. Le carbone sur terre est sous forme de biomasse: les plantes, les micro-organismes, les animaux, les humains sont tous faits principalement de carbone. Lorsque nous mourons, une partie de la matière organique se transforme en gaz, mais une partie demeure contenue sur terre. Elle est contenue dans les océans, dans les tourbières, dans les zones humides et aussi sous forme d’humus dans le sol. Plus la couche de sol vivant est profonde, plus la quantité de carbone séquestrée est élevée.
    Un sol vivant séquestre non seulement du carbone, l’empêchant de retourner dans l’atmosphère, mais il nous protège des effets du changement climatique. Avec une meilleure structure, un sol en santé retient l’eau et l’air, permettant une meilleure résilience aux sécheresses et aux inondations, qui se font plus fréquentes avec les changements climatiques.

  • Comment la régénération de la santé des sols peut-elle nourrir le monde?

    On a fait coulé beaucoup d’encre sur le besoin de nourrir une population grandissante durant les prochaines générations, cependant le présent état de dégradation des sols rend ce défi insurmontable si nous conservons nos méthodes agricoles courantes. Les sols vivants ont une fertilité accrue dû à l’optimisation de leur fonctions écosystémiques naturelles. La régénération de la santé des sols permet de restaurer des terres dégradées, assurant ainsi une plus grande superficie de terres productives pour faire pousser de la nourriture ou élever des animaux. À moyen et long terme, les terres régénérées sont plus profitables, avec moins d’intrants. Un sol vivant offre une plus grande résilience à des intempéries climatiques et restaure la qualité de l’eau dans nos rivières et nos lacs.

  • Qui participe au Symposium Sols vivants?

    Le Symposium Sols vivants est destiné à l’ensemble des acteurs voulant jouer un rôle dans la régénération des sols. Ceci inclut les citoyens curieux ayant à coeur la santé et l’empreinte carbone de notre système alimentaire; les agriculteurs et agronomes qui veulent partager et apprendre quant à des méthodes de production améliorant la santé des sols; les entreprises qui soutiennent la gestion régénératrice des terres et qui sont intéressées à réduire leur impact environnemental; les décideurs publics qui veulent soutenir un système où l’économie et l’environnement ne sont pas incompatibles; les chercheurs qui veulent perfectionner leur compréhension du fonctionnement de la régénération des sols; ainsi que les artistes et conteurs qui communiquent l’espoir et l’innovation dans le monde.

  • Pourquoi le Symposium Sols vivants est-il incontournable?

    Le Symposium Sols vivants est un événement unique qui rassemble la diversité d’acteurs qui ont un impact sur nos systèmes alimentaires et sur la manière dont nous gérons nos terres. Les experts apprendront les uns des autres et partageront leur expérience. Les citoyens en apprendront plus sur l’importance des sols dans nos écosystèmes et sur les manières dont nous pouvons tous contribuer. À ce moment-ci dans l’histoire, chacun d’entre nous se doit de faire sa part pour changer la manière dont on vit sur cette planète. Nous savons que les changements climatiques sont causés par l’intervention humaine sur les écosystèmes naturels. Ensemble nous devons trouver des façons de construire une économie faible en carbone. La manière dont nous gérons les terres et l’écosystème dans le sol est critique pour la transformation de notre système alimentaire, nos villes et nos entreprises. Le Symposium Sols vivants est un forum pour rassembler tous ceux qui veulent stimuler l’innovation et le changement.

Zone média: Images à télécharger

 

Voir notre communiqué de presse

Pour information, accréditation ou tout autre demande média:

Veuillez communiquer avec Gabrielle Bastien au gabrielle@regenerationcanada.org